About us

IPM is based on a positive image of man. It applies to the entire system that a positive basic need is assumed, analysed and described behind every personal characteristic. The essential progress of IPM lies in the investigation of the individual and dynamic structure of basic needs. This is based on a personality construct in which different needs compete with each other depending on the context.

The knowledge of inner diversity frees you from the usual evaluations. There are no people who are permanently unstable or introverted or of any other kind. Everybody sets his own priorities from childhood on and makes his experiences with them in the course of his life. We decide in a situation rather for one or the other behavior - and make new experiences.

Since the beginning of the development of what IPM is today, we have seen how the living, positive image of man leads to a high esteem for oneself and one's fellow man.

In the 80s the discussion about emotional intelligence began to become more audible. The focus was on the social, emotional competencies of management and the effects on employees. We were asked: Since it is difficult to re-educate managers, is there another way to give them the necessary knowledge about the personality of the employees and the associated leadership and motivation hints? While working on these and similar questions, ideas and requirements for a new methodology grew.

It became clear that for one's own decisions as well as for the motivation of employees or customers it is necessary to report about needs instead of characteristics. In order to do this justice, a team of psychologists, business economists and computer scientists investigated the connections between characteristics, emotions and needs and also made the findings software-technically usable. The first result was the T.M. (deep motivation) analysis in 1998. These and the variants DART (2000) and WIKO (2001) still form the empirical and statistical basis of IPM analyses today.

In 2006, the findings were so far validated and the procedures integrated and programmed into an overall system that the research and developments carried out by various authors from Germany, England and Poland could be combined in one institute, which was then founded as the Institute for Personality-Oriented Management in Görlitz.

Today all activities are coordinated by IPM AG. In recent years, the focus of research and development has been on the dynamics resulting from living together and working together in teams and on the question of how people fit together or with situational offers. This applies, for example, to the topics of person/job fit, employee team fit, but also to questions about partnerships, about argumentation towards customers or about career choices for young people.

The ranking procedure developed in the 1990s has proven its worth because it provides the best basis for recording and analysing a person's decisions on various situations. This analysis method was supplemented in 2006 by the Interactive Advice System (Snapshot), which provides the consultant with situational communication information in telephone communication with customers. In 2017, the development of text analysis began on the basis of artificial intelligence. This methodology is already capable of deriving valuable information on various characteristics from short texts such as job offers or e-mails.

Stephanie Schoss

Stephanie Schoss

Co-founder & Chairman of the Board of Directors

Stephanie Schoss studied economics at the University of St. Gallen, the Singapore Management University and Harvard.

She is co-founder of the Competence Center for Top Teams at the Research Institute for International Management of the University of St. Gallen. She is also co-founder of various companies in which she continues to be closely involved as an active board member.

David Scheffer

David Scheffer

Chief Science Officer

born 1970 in Richmond, VA. Raised in the USA, Ethiopia and Germany. Studied psychology at the University of Osnabrück. Doctorate in 2001 as part of a project funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) to review evolutionary socialization theory on implicit motives. 1998 to 2008 research assistant in the field of personnel and organizational psychology at the Helmut-Schmidt-University in Hamburg.

2008 Founding partner at KEY4TALENT and fbtk. From 2010 Professor at NORDAKADEMIE, Hochschule der Wirtschaft, where he heads the business psychology course in Hamburg. Since 2014 on the advisory board of the Institute for Personality-Oriented Management (IPM). 2017 Foundation of the research institute CAPTA (Computer Aided Text Analysis) at NORDAKADEMIE. Research interests: Influence of implicit personality systems on professional and consumer behaviour. Measurement of personality traits through AI-supported text analysis.

Über uns

IPM geht von einem positiven Menschenbild aus. Es gilt für die gesamte Systematik, dass hinter jeder persönlichen Ausprägung oder Eigenschaft ein positives Grundbedürfnis vermutet, analysiert und beschrieben wird. Der wesentliche Fortschritt durch IPM liegt in der Untersuchung der individuellen und dynamischen Struktur der Grundbedürfnisse. Damit gehen wir von einem Persönlichkeits-Konstrukt aus, bei dem kontextabhängig verschiedene Bedürfnisse miteinander konkurrieren.

Das Wissen um die innere Vielfalt befreit von den üblichen Bewertungen. Es gibt keine dauerhaft labilen oder introvertierten oder sonst wie gearteten Menschen. Jeder Mensch setzt von Kind auf an seine eigenen Prioritäten und macht damit im Laufe des Lebens seine Erfahrungen. Wir entscheiden uns in einer Situation eher für das eine oder andere Verhalten – und machen neue Erfahrungen.

Wir sehen seit dem Beginn der Entwicklung dessen, was IPM heute ausmacht, wie das lebendige, positive Menschenbild zu einer hohen Wertschätzung der eigenen Person und der Mitmenschen führt.

In den 80er Jahren begann die Diskussion über emotionale Intelligenz vernehmlicher zu werden. Der Blick wurde auf die sozialen, emotionalen Kompetenzen des Managements und auf die Wirkungen bei den Mitarbeitern gelenkt. Wir wurden gefragt: Da man Manager schwerlich umerziehen kann, gibt es einen anderen Weg ihnen das nötige Wissen über die Persönlichkeit der Mitarbeiter und die damit verbundenen Führungs- und Motivationshinweise anhand zu geben? Bei der Arbeit an diesen und ähnlichen Fragen wuchsen Ideen und Anforderungen an eine neue Methodik.

Es wurde deutlich, dass für die eigenen Entscheidungen, sowie für die Motivation von Mitarbeitern oder Kunden nötig ist, statt von Eigenschaften über Bedürfnisse zu berichten. Um dem gerecht zu werden, fand sich ein Team von Psychologen, Betriebswirten und Informatikern, welches die Zusammenhänge zwischen Eigenschaften, Emotionen und Bedürfnissen untersuchte und die Erkenntnis auch software-technisch nutzbar machte. Als erstes Ergebnis wurde 1998 die T.M. (Tiefenmotivation)-Analyse realisiert. Diese, sowie die Varianten DART (2000) und WIKO (2001) bilden heute noch die empirische und statistische Basis der IPM Analysen.

Im Jahr 2006 waren die Erkenntnisse soweit abgesichert und die Verfahren in einer Gesamtsystematik integriert und programmiert, dass die von verschiedenen Autoren aus Deutschland, England und Polen durchgeführten Forschungen und Entwicklungen in einem Institut zusammengefasst werden konnten, das dann als Institut für Persönlichkeitsorientiertes Management in Görlitz gegründet wurde.

Heute werden alle Aktivitäten von der IPM AG koordiniert. In den vergangenen Jahren lagen die Schwerpunkte der Forschung und Entwicklung bei der Dynamik, die sich aus dem Zusammenleben und Zusammenwirken in Teams ergibt, und bei der Frage, wie Menschen miteinander oder mit situativen Angeboten zusammenpassen. Das betrifft zum Beispiel die Themen Person-Job-Fit, Mitarbeiter-Team-Passung aber auch Fragen zu Partnerschaften, zur Argumentation gegenüber Kunden oder zur Berufsfindung für junge Menschen.

Das in den 90er Jahren entwickelte Ranking-Verfahren hat sich bewährt, denn es bietet die beste Basis, um die Entscheidungen eines Menschen zu verschiedenen Situationen zu erfassen und zu analysieren. Ergänzt wurde diese Analyse-Methode 2006 um das Interaktive Advice System (Snapshot), das in der telefonischen Kommunikation mit Kunden dem Berater situative Kommunikationshinweise gibt. Im Jahr 2017 begann zunächst auf der Basis Künstlicher Intelligenz die Entwicklung der Textanalyse. Diese Methodik ist bereits jetzt in der Lage, auch aus kurzen Texten, wie Stellenangebote oder Mails wertvolle Hinweise auf verschiedene Ausprägungen abzuleiten.

Stephanie Schoss

Stephanie Schoss

Mitgründerin & Verwaltungsratspräsidentin

Stephanie Schoss studierte Wirtschafts­wissen­schaf­ten an der Universität St. Gallen, der Singapore Management Universität und in Harvard.

Sie ist Mitgründerin des Competence Center for Top Teams am Research Institute for International Management der Universität St. Gallen. Sie ist auch Mitgründerin verschiedener Firmen in welchen sie weiterhin eng involviert als aktives Verwaltungsrats­mitglied.

David Scheffer

David Scheffer

Chief Science Officer

geb. 1970 in Richmond, VA. Aufgewachsen in den USA, Äthiopien und Deutschland. Studium der Psychologie an der Universität Osnabrück. Promotion 2001 im Rahmen eines von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft geförderten Projekt zur Überprüfung der evolutionären Sozialisationstheorie über das Thema implizite Motive. 1998 bis 2008 Wissenschaftlicher Assistent im Fachgebiet Personal- und Organisationspsychologie an der Helmut-Schmidt-Universität in Hamburg.

2008 Gründungs-Partner bei KEY4TALENT und fbtk. Ab 2010 Professor an der NORDAKADEMIE, Hochschule der Wirtschaft, wo er in Hamburg den Studiengang Wirtschaftspsychologie leitet. Seit 2014 im Beirat des Instituts für Persönlichkeits-orientiertes Management (IPM). 2017 Gründung des Forschungs-Instituts CAPTA (Computer Aided Text Analysis) an der NORDAKADEMIE. Forschungsinteressen: Einfluss impliziter Persönlichkeits-Systeme auf das Berufs- und Konsumverhalten. Messung von Persönlichkeitsmerkmalen durch KI-gestützte Textanalysen.